Tags

, , , ,

Over the weekend, I decided to have some fun, and did the Gymnastic lesson on Sunday afternoon.  It was mostly a lot of pole work, focused on bending and balancing, which was great for us.  Cally was a little backed off by the raised cavaletti sequence, because she moves more like a hunter, and wants to just sweep across stuff–having to pick up her feet always gives her pause when it’s not something she’s supposed to actually jump.  But she really got it by the end, and was feeling great!

Cally got Monday off, and started Dressage Boot Camp on Tuesday with Barbara while I was working to pay for boot camp.  I got an email the next morning that she’d started off rather stiff (normal for her) but by the end was working well, bending and stretching.  I was also told that she’s got lovely gaits and is very sweet, and I have to say, hearing that from a Grand Prix dressage trainer about your horse is a good way to start your morning.  It was also the impetus I needed to get rolling in the cold and head out to the barn, where the weather was a whopping 23 degrees.  I pretty much only went out because my heavyweight blanket was still bagged up in storage, and I thought Cally might want to have it on while temperatures dipped down into the single digits.  I did summon up enough courage to tack up quickly with her quarter sheet, and ride around for about 10 minutes, just enough to stretch out her legs and back with some walking and a couple minutes of trotting.  Nothing at all strenuous, just enough to move a little.  Then she got bundled up in her big blanket and put back outside, where I have to admit, the horses didn’t seem too disturbed by the high winds and cold temperatures; if anything, they seemed a bit frisky.  Cally took a nice long drink from the water trough, and headed straight for the roundbale.  Smart girl, enjoy that while I head home to warmth.

2015/01/img_3395.jpg

When I got home, there was an email from Barbara about the lesson I was supposed to have today.  Given that the forecast high was in the teens, it seemed best to postpone the lesson until a day I could feel all of my fingers and toes and face while riding.  I’m not going to get much out of a lesson if I can’t feel what I’m doing, and it’s not particularly nice to make the horse actually work when it’s that cold.  So hopefully my personal human portion of Dressage Boot Camp will start on Tuesday.

So that leaves me to choose the Daisy A. Dog method of dealing with winter:

2015/01/img_3400.jpg

It’s good weather for snuggling on the couch with the smaller furry family members, wearing flannel PJs, and drinking your warm beverage of choice.  My suggestion?  Hot Toddy made with Republic of Tea’s Cardamon Cinnamon and Glenlivet.  You’re welcome.

