In accordance with Dr. Adams’ recommendations, Cally went back to work today! Which of us looks happier about that?

IMG_2997.JPG

Well, first she got a grooming, a hot toweling, and a body clip, because she was a hairball and it felt unfair to ask her to work like that. So I did a quick variation on the chaser type clip I did last year, and it came off quickly.

IMG_2996.JPG

Then we headed to the ring to do some work. She’d been in for two days, between the weather and the hospital visit, so we did a good bit if walking, just getting nice and swingy and forward, then a wee bit if shoulder in and leg yield. Buttons still installed, check! The trot felt great, and it really seemed to help that I was focusing on sitting up and being still with my arms and strong through my shoulders/back. She felt great! I knew the canter would be a little dramatic if I sat and asked for a more dressage-style transition, so I just got in a light half-seat and allowed a more hunter-style transition. It was still a but more exuberant than necessary, but I just stayed up in a half seat and let her settle herself. After a circle or two it felt pretty good, and the down transition was solid. At that point I had a happy grin and jello for legs, so I called it quits with that. It felt good to be back! And her leg did look better afterwards, so more work for Miss Cally seems to be the right plan!

