Tags

, ,

The outdoor? For real?!

Monday wasn’t quite as gorgeous and sunny as it had been over the weekend, but after the winter we’ve had, I wasn’t going to let that stop me.  Cally had on two shoes, and her leg was looking better, and so help me, I was getting on, outside!  She was a little looky, and perhaps a bit confused, but went back to work pretty nicely.  We didn’t actually do much, mostly worked a lot at the walk on suppling and bending, doing a lot of our (and by “our” I mean “my”) favorite exercises, starting with some spirals, a few squares with alternating turn on the haunches and turn on the forehands, and a little bit of leg yield.  When she felt less like a 2×4, I went ahead and asked for a bit of the trot; that was a little stiff, too, but we went on to so some spirals there, and she loosened up a bit and felt pretty good, and even did a little leg yield there, too.  Since she was so good, I decided to push it and trot over the little crossrail that you can see in the photo background.  No big deal, she went right over, landed cantering, then did a little bit of a crowhop, but to switch herself on to the correct lead.  Since that’s typically her bad change, I was totally happy to end on that!

Today, unfortunately, we had more snow, so I’ve been hanging out at home with Daisy A Dog, but did manage to schedule a lesson for Friday, so hopefully we’ll get back in the swing of things.  I also checked my mail to find not only our new Coggins, but a very nice thank you note from Carolyn at Maryland Horse Trials, thanking me for volunteering at the derby the other weekend.  It’s little touches like that that (and not just the free schooling passes!) that keep me going back there as a volunteer.  Plus, in this day and age, it’s just nice to actually get something as nice as a hand-written thank you.

