Tags

, , ,

I should be riding today, but instead I’m doing a friend’s overtime shift, so she can close on her new house.  So I thought I’d share a few links instead of a riding update.

Today is the 50th Anniversary of the Kennedy Assassination.  Many remember the caparisoned horse from the funeral procession, which really ushered in a new era of equine use at military funerals.  At work, we had a great program on the Old Guard, who does the equestrian portion of the funerals at Arlington National Cemetery.

On a completely unrelated note, Outside Magazine had a really great article on head trauma and helmet technology that I saw linked from the Chronicle of the Horse Forums.  The article focuses mainly on skiing and mountain biking, but I can easily see how the technology would be applicable to riding helmets.  It would be nice to see some encouragement of riding helmet manufacturers to make improvements in safety, rather than just more expensive, ugly covers for the same old foam shells.

