Tags

,

Image

This fall, after several years riding happily in my old Beval Natural, a good friend finally managed to convince me to look into getting a saddle that fit my ridiculously long leg.  The saddle was a perfectly adequate fit for both me and Cally, and she’s never protested its fit.  But I decided to see what was out there, which led to borrowing several very generous barnmates saddles.  Long story short, we ended up getting a very nice new-to-us Harry Dabbs Original A/O this October, and it has been a revelation.  Which led to the revelation that the cheapie Wintec dressage saddle I knew I’d been fighting for my position in had to go, too.

I ended up getting this Crosby via eBay.  It’s not a Prix St. Georges, as I had one of those before, and knew how nicely it fit us; this fits even better, but it’s not a PSG.  It’s got the Crosby Olympic Works Walsall plate, and the old AHSA logo on the left flap, and a much more substantial knee roll/block than the PSGs have.  It of course showed up after I got home from the barn on Thursday, so since I worked all weekend, I was not-so-patiently biding my time until I got to take it out to try on Cally and ride in this afternoon.

The saddle fit her very nicely, and fit me even better.  I didn’t realize just how much I was struggling for balance and position in the old saddle until I picked up a trot in this–it feels effortless.  Well, the basics of riding, anyway.  The tough part, like getting Cally soft, supple, and flexed in the direction I want her to are still something of a work in progress.  But hopefully this will be a big step forward in making this easier on my part as we begin our Winter Dressage Boot Camp.  I know Cally will not be a fan, because it means we’re trapped making circles in the indoor.  That’s as much a function of weather as anything, because I’d quite happily make circles in either of the outdoors if they weren’t soupy and icy.  

Rather than a New Year’s Resolution, I’m setting a goal.  By spring, I’m going to stop locking my left elbow, and we’re going to be going around softly, supply, and bent in the direction of travel.  That’s not asking too much, right?

